I want to be a blogger! Here is my idea!

Posted: May 10, 2011 in Blogging, Denominations, Outlaw Preachers
Tags: , , , ,
Major branches within Protestantism (excludes ...

Image via Wikipedia

Folks, I need your help.  I want to be a blogger.  That’s the first thing.  I’m not really sure why I want to be a blogger.  I think it’s because I get a lot of information from blogs and tend to look up to those that blog well.

I have read that in order to have a successful blog, it must stay on topic, be timely , and interesting.  Problem is, I’m truly not that interesting.  But, I would like to be, “interesting”.

So I read a glimpse of a person that attended a different church per week for a year.  I would like to attend a different denomination per week ” or so ” to get a real life education on what makes all these groups click.  With interviews, pictures, and brief back round study.

My thought is it would help me grasp an understanding of denominations in real time.  What makes them tick.  Makes them unique.  Or alike.

So give me some suggestions.  What would you like to see happen?  Would it interest you?  What would you like to know?  I would like it to be somewhat interactive.  So , help me out!

Comments
  1. Ron Amundson says:

    A different denom a week would be interesting, but its likewise quite superficial. I spent a year of near full immersion at a Catholic church… (I still think daily mass rocks) and despite that level of time commitment, I’m just start to begin to understand what they really believe.

    Perhaps rather than a week… go for a month of full involvement in a denom. in addition to worship, catch as many non-Sunday goings on as possible. I think such a journey could be really fascinating.

    • Hey, thank you for the info. I grew up a Catholic and still find it fascinating. I run into and read all these different thoughts and ideas. Want to jam them all in!

      What would you suggest as far as things you would like to know? Questions to ask? That type of thing?

      • Ron Amundson says:

        What would be fascinating to know is what folks in the pew believe and think in contrast with what official teachings are. The limited amount of digging around different denoms I’ve done over the years, indicates massive chasms officially, but in the pew, not so much.

  2. estherlou says:

    nothing like a mispelled word to set the tone.

Leave a Reply

